Society of Soul were a five-member R&B group from Atlanta, Georgia that consisted of members Sleepy Brown (born Patrick Brown on January 24, 1970 in Savannah, Georgia), Rico Wade, Ray Murray, Espraronza (born Espraronza Griffin from Port Royal, South Carolina) and Big Rube (born Ruben Bailey in 1971 from Atlanta, Georgia).

Three of the group’s members: Sleepy, Rico & Wade are part of Organized Noise, a hip-hop production company based in Atlanta, Georgia that has been active in the music business since 1992. Together, they have worked songs such as En Vogue’s song “Don’t Let Go (Love),” Ludacris’ song “Saturday (Oooh Ooohh)” and TLC’s number-one smash hit “Waterfalls.”
brainchildIn 1995, the group released their debut album “Brainchild” on LaFace Records. It’s unknown how or if the album made the charts at all.
pushinThe lead single from the album “Pushin'” didn’t appear to make the Billboard charts at all.
embraceThe follow-up single “E.M.B.R.A.C.E. (Da Da Dah Dah)” peaked at #71 on Billboard’s Hot R&B Singles chart, staying on the chart for 4 weeks. After that, nothing much was heard from the Society of Soul and it seemed as if the group disbanded.

These days, Sleepy, Rico & Wade continue to work together as Organized Noise, working with artists such as Goodie Mob & Outkast.

Big Rube has made appearances on various artists’ albums such as Big Boi, Goodie Mob, Age Against the Machine, Lina and Future.

In 1998, Espraronza released a solo single called “They Don’t Understand” which didn’t appear to chart. These days, it’s unknown what she is up to these days.

To see a fan-made video for “Pushin’,” go to:

To see the music video for “E.M.B.R.A.C.E. (Da Da Dah Dah)”, go to: